A Book of Thorny Carols

by Benjamin Thorn


2 x Score 20 pp.

19 Quirky Christmas Carols. The carols in this book are fun variations on what is usually heard at Christmas. Apart from the variations on In dulci jubilo (the last six pieces in the book) they are not necessarily intended to be played as a set. The backwards and upside down carols can effectively be used for audience participation to see if they can be recognised in their altered forms.

1. Backwards carol 1 (Gook King Wencesles)
2. Backwards carol 2 (What Child is This?)
3. Backwards carol 3 (Away in a Manger)
4. Upside down carol 1 (Away in a Manger)
5. Upside down carol 2 (???)
6. Upside down carol 3 (Ding Dong Merrily on High)
7. God Rest Ye Angel Wenceslas
8. This endris ivy
9. Resonet in silent wassail
10. On Silent Christmas Night
11. God Rest Ye Merry Wenceslas
12. I saw three ships
13. Jack's Jingles
14. In dulci Major/minor
15. Indulci canonica
16. In dulce chromatico
17. In dulci metallica
18. In dulci pointillismo
19. In dulci sicilienne

$ 26.40 tax incl.

  • Catalogue Type Recorder
  • Edition Modern
  • Instrumentation varying combinations of descant, treble, tenor & bass recorders
  • Setting Trios Quartets
  • Grade 3-4
  • Composer Dates Contemporary

Orpheus Music Publications

Contemporary recorder and string music

Orpheus Music publishes contemporary recorder music featuring such composers as Diana Blom, Nigel Butterley, Zana Clarke, Justo Diaz, Lance Eccles, Ross Edwards, Malcolm Tattersall and Benjamin Thorn.

We represent over 70 composers, including many young composers, with more than 260 works that provide a wide range of styles and genres for one to ten recorder players. We also have a useful Recorder Composing Guide and Glossary of Unusual Recorder Techniques for those interested in writing for the recorder.

Orpheus Music Publications are also available from our distributors in Germany, UK, and USA.

Orpheus Music

String Series

Orpheus Music String Series has now been launched. Put OMSS into the search box to view this series. For more information.

Welcome, Login



No products

Shipping $ 0.00
Total $ 0.00

Cart Check out  

Like us on Facebook